Home > Essays, Head2Screen > Aunt Eva

Aunt Eva

The following is a reprint of two posts previously placed on deviantart some time ago. The reason I am replacing them here is because she was on my mind a lot today and I wanted to share her with some more people.

Eva

Originally Posted: Sat May 13, 2006, 1:07 PM

no stories or poems today… I’m in a kind of introspective mood.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my plans to move to Edinburgh and how I keep procrastinating. My latest ‘excuse’ is a biggie… Aunt Eva. She’s in a hospice waiting to die. She’s 82 and up until November last year she was working three days a week and walking to the supermarket, going boozing down the legion and raking in the bingo money. She got a sore throat when she was in America for christmas (she’s a jet-setter too!) and went to the doctor when she got back.

She was soon diagnosed with eosophagal cancer – cancer of the throat. Making it hard for her to swallow anything. An operation made it easier for her by putting a tube in her throat so she can talk a bit better and drink but it’s still painful. The doctors gave her a handful of months and she’s slowly wasting away.

I don’t want to travel up to the other end of the country when I know she could die any day. I also know that she would tell me off if she knew this is why I’m not going. The thing is, I wasn’t there for my gran when she died and I even missed her funeral. I can’t do that to Eva too.

There’s all this other crap with her relatives hanging around like vultures, literally drawing up lists of what they’ll be having when she dies but I’m keeping out of it. She told me I can have a photo of her and that’s all I want. It’s funny, but I’ve never been one for photos… but I can look at hers and feel confident.

She never had children of her own but there are so many people that became her children – myself included – and they will be the ones who will be truly saddened by her passing.

I’m writing this just to get it out of my head. To make people know about her. To get someone else to kick my arse into gear or something. I don’t know.

Rest in Peace, Aunt Eva

Originally Posted: Mon May 15, 2006, 3:47 PM

On Saturday, May 13th, whilst I was writing the previous journal entry, Eva Buckingham died.

The cause of death was asphyxia. The tumour in her oesophagus had grown to such an extent that it was pressing heavily on her trachea, making it hard for her to breath. Whilst she was asleep, fluid collected in her throat and, unable to swallow, she died.

There was no pain, no suffering, just peace and quiet and the end. Even though members of her family were not there (visiting times were several hours away), she did not die alone. The funeral will be next week.

It is believed by all that whatever happens when you die, she will be happy and safe, and finally reunited with her husband Cyril.

She will be missed by many, many people.


  1. Felicia
    September 1, 2010 at 07:45

    It isn’t that odd that your blog post and Aunt Evas passing coincided, is it? I feel comfort in this entry- thanks for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

