Home > Head2Screen, StoryBored > The Voices told me…

The Voices told me…

My previous blog was a tale of a dream I had.  Still not sure why I blogged it, or what made me remember it. What follows is not exactly based on a dream, it comes from sleep though – does that make sense? Maybe… On Sunday morning, I woke up about 5:30am to a slightly dawning sky and I had this little flicker of an idea in my head. I scrabbled around looking for a writing implement and anything to write on. It’s stupid, because a lot of the time I do keep a pen and pad near at hand. Naturally, on this occasion, I didn’t What I DID have was my mobile phone. Now, I don’t have a fancy pants iPhone or anything like that. In fact, I can barely get dabr to work and it will only connect online when it feels particularly generous. So I went to the notes facility and started plugging away with my thumbs like a mad man. I managed to get down as much as I could and I have decided to put it here in it’s entirety (which explains why it cuts off abruptly) without editing it apart from correcting spelling mistakes made by either me or predictive text.

I can hear them scurrying in the walls.

They follow me from room to room, no matter how fast I run they seem to get there before me and I have no choice now but to reason that they may number in the thousands. But it’s the things they whisper… Oh God, the terrible things.

On a good day it will just be a comment on what shoes that woman who walked past my window was wearing, what my neighbour masturbated over last night or a new recipe for a clever sauce to go with duck breasts.On a bad night it could be horrendous things like a child reciting your every sin, or an ex-girlfriend moaning the name of everyone she has ever fucked who was better than me.

But those things are nothing compared to the punishments.

They punish me for not listening. For turning the music up so loudly it drowns them out, or wearing earplugs. Jesus, I wish I’d never worn them – never bought them. The next day all they spoke of was an endless stream of names separated by the phrase ‘who created’. When they got to the end of the list of names, they just started over again, repeating repeating repeating themselves. It went on for hours and hours – 6 hours 42 minutes to be exact. The same amount of time I had worn the ear plugs. I found that I recognised a few of the names and so checked them out on the library computers the next time I was there. To my whimpering horror I found that the voices had been reciting a list of children who had been sexually molested and then grown up to be molesters themselves. The list went back years – beyond what I could find on the computer.

The library people asked me to leave when I started crying.

It didn’t matter, I did not want to spend too much time out of the flat – the voices get loud and insistent the longer I am away. On a day of clarity I tried asking them what it is that they want from me but all they replied with was a some advice on good skin care and then they all started badly whistling showtunes.

I once heard a story about a man who was committed because he started hearing voices in his head. He kept going to doctors who decided to lock him and pump him full of drugs. It went on like this for quite a while until on of the other patients hit him and a tooth fell out – the voice stopped immediately. Just like that. Turns out his filling was picking up talk radio stations.

The day I remembered this story I managed to bash out most of my teeth with a wooden rolling pin. When I got out of hospital the voices whispered to me all the foods I would never be able to properly enjoy again. I think they were being easy on me.

My landlady came around for an inspection today. She wanted to know why I had ripped huge chunks of plaster off the walls and smacked great holes in the ceiling. I wanted to know why she let me live in a place where things live in the walls that talk to me all the time, endlessly chitter-chattering the mundane, through bizarre to crushing. She just laughed -laughed!- at me and told me that there were no voices, but what there would be was a solicitor, some policemen and my arse on the street.

I tried to explain that there WERE voices and if there were no voice like she said, how would I know about the school camping trip she went on when she was 14 and why she had to sent home early from it. The voices were quite confident about this but she just ran out crying and swearing.

So that is it. That is as far as the inspiration attack took me. There were a few more lines to follow on, but by that time I had woken up a bit and was starting to lead things instead of being led. I didn’t want that so I stopped where the real story stopped.

What do you think? Should I come back to this after working on the Clint Magazine stuff and ‘A Girl and her Squid’, or maybe just leave it as it is – a burst of flame from a brainfart I held a match to? Maybe you’d like to take this and work it for yourself? Please comment and let me know your thoughts, I would welcome some feedback so feel free.

And I’m out.


  1. Jeanette Marsh
    May 12, 2010 at 05:25

    Definitely creepy & worth following up, but when I think is up to you. It sucked me right in. Can I blame you for any nightmares tonight? ;D

  2. May Deva
    May 12, 2010 at 13:50

    This is excellent. I guess the questions you are posing come down to this: if you go back to it, will it give you and ending? Only way to know is to try it and see. Perhaps that is the ending. Perhaps it has more left to say. Is it worthy of trying? Oh hell yes.

  3. Justine Elyot
    May 12, 2010 at 16:11

    I like this idea – I think it could be stretched out into a really scary paranormal short story or novella if you explored how and why this was all happening. Is there something in the house, or is it the protagonist descending into psychosis? Definitely drew me in; I reckon you could do a lot with this.

  4. yearzerowriters
    May 13, 2010 at 04:26

    I love it. Its shocking. Love the details. Especially the teeth & duck breasts. If I was you I’d polish it & leave as is – unless there is more of it in your head.

    triplecherry

  5. May 25, 2010 at 13:51

    Ok I definitely like this and I think you should definitely work on it as it had great potential maybe the voices could be used to his advantage but try and refrain for aiming for the obvious to keep it fresh and original. I would definitely would like to read the re-write if you do one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

