Home > StoryBored > I’ve started so I will…

I’ve started so I will…

(OR… I’d make a terrible Green Lantern)

As you can see from my year long gap between first blog post and second, I am not great at keeping momentum with writing. I am a fantastic ideas man; I can come up with a whole bunch of plots and then see individual threads which come off them and develop into some kind of loose plot but when it comes to the actual execution, I fail.

I have several note books scattered around various places. I usually carry two or three around with me in my bag at all times too (including a moleskin notebook I was given and that’s what Picasso and Hemingway used to use!) and in these notebooks are scrawled new ideas, old ideas, further additions to stories, characters, phrases or concepts I’d like to use etc. None of them ever really get used or go any further than rough scrawlings.

I know what the problems are… fear of failure, lack of faith, the depression (when I say ‘the depression’ in my head I am saying it the same way Peter says “Gingivitis” in my favourite Family Guy episode), no force of will, lack of discipline and a nagging doubt that I’m not actually very good.

Here’s a few of the things I have started but not finished…

Stories:

‘daemonica ex machina’: an alt:history steampunk novel which I realised recently would have to expand into a trilogy in order to fit all of the ideas and threads I thought up.

‘reclamation’: a crime story amidst the post-zombie apocalypse and how the survivors are dealing with regaining their lives.

‘gretchen’: hurts people and kills people because his daddy asks him to.

TV

‘burke and hare’ yep, I came up with a pilot and at least seven episodes of a tv series set in Edinburgh based on the legendary Irish ghouls. Just plot – no dialogue though.

‘wimbledon trailers’ for some reason I’ve had the idea banging around in my head for a series of trailers advertising the tennis?

Comics.

‘vigilant’ – just a guy defending his part of town and the people. no costumes, no powers, just a bloke that has had enough and wants to make his home feel like his home again.

‘Rex Britannica’: a proper British Superhero, when these islands we call home are hurting enough, Britannia calls forth the spirit of Rex Britannica to protect her shores. The spirit imbues a mortal man – in this generation, a taxi driver – to use super powers to fight enemies both natural and supernatural. (Featuring BIGGLES!)

‘lost’ – no, not a bunch of people on a dumb island. a young boy with an overly vivid imagination gets lost within his fantasies until they eventually take over and he no longer knows which world is real or not.

and then there are a few erotic fiction pieces that I owe to @RemittanceGirl and @JustineElyot too. :/

You see? Plenty of  ideas, but no drive to finish them. So I’d like to maybe work with some of you talented poopers out there in twitterland and maybe make some magic happen. It doesn’t have to be any of the stuff I already mentioned, it can be something completely different – something you’ve wanted to do – anything, really. I’d just like to achieve something!

I am actually rather good with collaboration. I used to write with someone quite regularly and we would set each other challenges, or write a page then swap or come up with random ideas together and the creativity really flowed. I had a muse and a collaborator, but unfortunately we drifted apart as friends sometime do.

So if anyone fancies knocking around some ideas, drop me a line here or via twitter and we’ll see how it goes.

  1. @SecretBliz
    April 25, 2010 at 17:31

    Wow! You can write! Who knew? Get your blog on babe, I want to hear more…

  2. Justine Elyot
    April 25, 2010 at 17:33

    Hey, Richard, it’s really good to see you back up, posting and tweeting regularly again. If I weren’t so busy I’d offer myself – the Burke & Hare thing would be right up my sinister alley *can I write anything that isn’t some kind of innuendo, I wonder?*. But I hope somebody takes you up on this – if not, just sit down and do it. You can always change what you’ve written later. Good luck!

  3. obiorion
    April 25, 2010 at 20:21

    These sound pretty cool. Great that you want to team up. Might be the very thing that gets you over the finish line as it were. Most of all I know exactly where you’re coming from. Tons of ideas floating around in my noggin too with no real drive to see any come to life yet each time my mind drifts I think to myself, “man that would be a great story/movie!”.

    Hit me on that Twitter thing. Who know, right?

  4. Beautiful Mind
    April 25, 2010 at 22:32

    Do you draw? I would love to do comics but I don’t draw so I don’t stand a chance. I think all your ideas sound great and I’d sure read em. I have an idea for young adult African-American Sci-Fi fantasy myself. I get too wrapped up in other things to write every day. But I know it works because I finished two other books that way! Best of luck and keep us posted.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

